Snow Day

medium_6437541919

Today is a snow day where I live. We’ve had a lot of weather days this winter, but this one looks to have some actual snow coming with it (4-7 inches if the forecasts are accurate, which I’ll believe when I see).

I have mixed feelings about today. We’ve had a number of snow busts around here. The kids got sleds three Christmases ago that they’ve only used once or twice on some paltry grass-filled snow in our sloping backyard. So the prospect of actual snow is exciting for parent and kid alike.

On the other hand, it’s been a vacation-heavy season. There was winter break, then a family trip to Florida in early January. (Read about the reason for the trip here.) Throw in a couple of sick days and yesterday’s MLK holiday. I love my kids, but honesty time—I’m tired of them. I’m sure they’re tired of me too.

And I treasure my life as a pastor, speaker and writer. I feel responsible to that work. Like all of us with jobs, I’m “on the hook” for it—there are salaries, expectations and deadlines to keep me accountable. But I also love it. It’s my lifeblood.

The literature about Sabbath talks a lot about the one day in seven that’s set aside for rest. But the other side of that is the six days that are designated for work. Vacations are essential for most of us, to help us recharge. But too much rest and leisure can be destructive to our well-being too. I’m feeling lethargic and dunderheaded. I’m ready to get back to work!

The image I have for today is one of oscillation: “to swing back and forth with a steady, uninterrupted rhythm.” That’s my hope, anyway: to tend to the needs of my children, and to enjoy them too, while also moving a few of my vocational responsibilities forward. To practice some holy puttering, discerning what each moment requires and giving myself wholly to it.

Failing that, I hope at least to make it through the day with sanity intact. And with at least one run down a good sledding hill.

~

Want more inspiration and tips for living an intentional, spirit-filled life? Sign up for my email list, sent monthlyish.

photo credit: ChaoticMind75 via photopin cc

About MaryAnn

pastor, writer, haphazard knitter
This entry was posted in Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snow Day

  1. scherschligt says:

    I hear you about wanting to work. I’m in the office having the most delightful few hours of uninterrupted work because no one knows I’m here. I didn’t want to take another day off that would just leave me feeling behind and scattered.

  2. scherschligt says:

    oops – replied too soon. Of course, without kids, that choice is a whole lot easier! My dog is here with me napping. I KNOW a toddler would not be doing the same!

Leave a Reply

