Here’s Another Sabbath Manifesto

SabbathRest1

I recently wrote about the Sabbath Manifesto and encouraged people to think about their own principles for Sabbath. Last weekend I was with the women of Providence Presbyterian Church for their women’s retreat. I had to leave Saturday night to preach at Tiny Church on Sunday morning, but look what they came up with after I left!

  • My needs are important!!
  • Visit friends & family.
  • Breath of life & stuffed animals.  Pet therapy.
  • Scuba dive & take photos to remember it by.
  • Gratitude.
  • Find God in things that delight me.
  • Take five minutes to breathe & to center.
  • Sing a song & touch God.
  • Learn a scripture – Your scripture.
  • Let go!  “I’ll think about that tomorrow.” ~Scarlett O’Hara
  • Pray for those that are lonely.
  • Journal.
  • Keep laughter in my heart.
  • Worship – With a community.

By the way, I would love to come and lead your congregation or organization in a Sabbath retreat or workshop! I’m currently booking fall 2014 and beyond. Find out more and get in touch

About MaryAnn

pastor, writer, haphazard knitter
This entry was posted in Tips and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

